Goodnight, Ijeoma

“EXPLOSION rocked Abuja, the Federal Capital Territory (FCT), on Wednesday, when a car loaded with bomb device exploded at a popular shopping mall close to Barnex Junction, Wuse Central District, leaving 21 people dead.”

That was how the news reported Wednesday’s bomb blast. 21. /tuwenti whan/…ashirin da daya…iri abuo na otu…okan le ogun…21. Very easy…try it. Twenty-one dead. See?

And the ones before them…ninety-seven, 60, two hundred and thirty-four…or thirty-seven. All numbers. Just numbers.

 

Only they aren’t. They are 21 men, 21 women, 21 babies, 60 children, 234 girls…all human. Just human.

Human enough to eat, and drink, and sleep, and cry; like you. Human enough to feel their hearts thud heavily, one last time before it all turns to smoke; like you would have. Human enough to hiss very sadly and feel sorry for those that had gone before; like me. And human enough to circle their hands over their heads, snap their fingers and say “It is not my portion in Jesus name”; like us. Human enough for all of that, but now, mere numbers. All numbers. Just numbers.

 

Ijeoma is just one. Just one, one sister, one daughter, one friend, one Ijeoma. To us, one matters. One is all. One is everything. All one. Just one.

The sorrow you will read in the following lines flow raw from the heart of my pal, blackINK whose pen did the writing. Its sorrow is exactly equivalent to the sorrow felt for every one loss to the manic rampage of Boko Haram; its sorrow swells for every one person lost, every one PEOPLE. People, not numbers.

 

Goodnight Ijeoma

The sun’s gone again
Call it shame or fear
The point’s still the same
Night has yet again come to stay

The wind has left with its warmth
The night’s cold and the stars are alone…

The owl’s wet to the skin
It’s raining heavily tonight
There’s a sadness in earth and sky
There’s a shiver in the owl’s cry…

No message was left
And her goodbye was not heard
If she cried, I hope not for long

We would meet again soon
When the skies would know no night

Tho’ you left so soon
I know you are only asleep
Your dreams we shall all live on
One day we shall all meet again
To yet again part no more

Yesterday if we had known, you would have slept all day

1604831_342599729225935_7781689158447071527_n

To Ijeoma and all the victims of the Barnex bomb blast

By blackINK

 

Shamelessly and undeservedly, I share in your sorrow, brother. And like you, I insist that she is not just a number. Goodnight, Ijeoma.

 

I am @0jukwu_martin on twitter

 

27 thoughts on “Goodnight, Ijeoma

  1. This is really really heart-wrenching. May the soul of Ijeoma and all those who have lost their lives to these senseless bombings rest in peace.

  2. Reblogged this on Dike Chiedozie's Blog and commented:
    That moment when you realise that even you make the grave mistake of reducing the casualties of the Boko Haram menace, the victims of these insane bombings, to just statistics. Numbers… Unspeakably less than what they were, who they were in life….
    R.I.P Ijeoma.

  3. You’re so spot on ’bout how very easily statistics are reeled out when these senseless and needless killings take place. One, just one, is a humongous deal and worse, putting a face to one of those is nothing short of devastating! Bone-chilling, blood-curdling and nerve-cracking! Its pretty disheartening! Destinies are wasted and cut off and for what?! Clueless! *sighs*

    Sleep on, sweet damsel; Ijeoma. And like your beautiful name depicts, I hope you have you a good journey to a better place void of sorrows, tears and blood, where all is but peaceful, serene and glorious. And to Black Ink, no words can comfort you right now, but I commend you and millions others all over our nation mourning the losses of their loved ones, to the sweet Holy Spirit, the Comforter Himself; to comfort all and sundry! God help and save Nigeria! *SMH*

  4. This is so sad. We’ve lost a beautiful gem to those godforsaking terrorist. I’m really angered by all this. How many must die before this menace is curbed? Sleep well IJ.

  5. Here now, gone the next. Its become so clear how fleeting life is. May God rest the souls of the departed and protect the wellbeing of the living from the scourge upon this country.

  6. It’s a pity, I don’t just know what to say again. The truth is, It could have been just anyone of us.
    I pray the good Lord grant the souls of the deceased rest, peace to their families and loved ones and peace to our country.

  7. Sad, sad, sad. But, I’m tired of being angry and sad. I’m tried of the news. I’m tired of my emotions all reeled up, yet I’m helpless to act. Worst, I don’t even know what to do. I’m tired of hoping the flames won’t go up. I’m tired of shamelessly scanning for the next bomb blast on the blogs. I’m tired of Nigeria. I’m tired of dreaming it will get better. I’m tired of prayingfor the safety of my family and friends. I’m tired of the frustration that comes with my dreams barricaded with hopelessness. I’m just being honest, I’m tired!!!!!

  8. I’m tired of being tired of this!!! How can you fix “stupid”when it comes to Boko Haram? How long will be enough for them to just stop? What is going on? I’m losing every positive nerve I have for a better Nigeria? Is it worth it to hope that this too shall pass? I’m tired of praying for the safety of my family and friends. I’m tired that not knowing what to do to stop this barbaric act. I’m tired of waking up every morning and greeted by blogs painted with blood. I’m tired of my dreams barricaded with fears of going back to one place I call home. I’m tired!

  9. I do not know what exactly these demons in human form want, that cannot be resolved amicably! Is Ij (or any of the diseased) the cause of their problems? Why can’t they let us be? Why?? *sobs* R.I.P Ijee… May God fight your cause.

  10. I saw the video yesterday, it was not good. Is this how we are going to continue our lives? living under duress and constant terror.
    Someone had written, “we are sitting ducks” YES, we are just harmless target of these criminal.

    My question to you “Nigerian Youth” is that: “How long shall we continue to watch ourselves being killed one at a time, while others remain quiet about these kind of incidences? “Thank God it is not me” perhaps is what everyone is saying, but how many more should die before it reaches your turn to be the victim.

    The future of our country is at stake here, We have armed forces, OPC, and MEND…. none can defend. Yet, we remain unperturbed about the seriousness of these kind of incidences in our nation.

    There is power in numbers, that is what I have learned over the years,

    I wrote:

    THE NEED FOR MARSHALL LAW IN NIGERIA:

    FOR THE FIRST TIME IN MY LIFE, AT A TIME LIKE THIS IN HISTORY, I WISH WE HAVE A MILITARY GOVERNMENT WHICH CAN HANDLE OUR SECURITY AFFAIRS ACCORDINGLY, NOT TO SAY THAT THE PRESENT ADMINISTRATION IS NOT CAPABLE.
    THOSE UNFAMILIAR WITH NIGERIA’S POTENTIALS MAY BE INTERESTED TO KNOW THAT IT BASICALLY BOILS DOWN TO THE FUTURE VIABILITY OF OUR MOTHERLAND. ATTACKS LIKE EFAB BOMB BLAST, WUSE 2, F.C.T. ABUJA IS BECOMING RAMPANT AND POPULAR, WHILE MANY LOSE THEIR LIVES AND PEACE OF MIND, WE AS A NATION STAND BY IN AWE WITHOUT ANY RESOLUTION.
    NIGERIAN TERRORIST GROUP “BOKO HARAM” AND OTHER EVIL ELEMENTS THAT ARE INFILTRATING NIGERIA’S POROUS BORDERS ARE INFLICTING DAMAGE ON OUR NATION AND OUR VALUED WAY OF LIFE, WHILE WE SEEK ADVANCEMENT AND REST OF MIND. THEY ARE INFLICTING SORROW, AND MASS CARNAGE, SABOTAGING THE DEVELOPMENT AND ECONOMIC VIABILITY OF OUR NATION.
    AS A RESULT, THERE IS IMPENDING SEISMIC SHIFT OF CAPITAL BASE WHICH WILL INFLICT OUR ECONOMICAL FEASIBILITY. WHAT IS MORE IMPORTANT HERE IS THE SURVIVAL OF NIGERIA. HOW CAN WE PROTECT OUR INTEREST AND NATION FROM FALLING INTO THE ABYSS? I KNOW YOU ARE AWARE OF IRAQ’S PREDICAMENT OF ETHNIC CONFLICT. WE ARE BETTER THAN THAT.
    I AM PERTURBED, KNOWING THAT WE HAVE A MILITARY, YET THESE SENSELESS ATTACKS ARE HAPPENING UNDER OUR NOSES.

    THE QUESTION IS HOW DO WE RESOLVE OUR PROBLEMS?

    MARSHALL LAW IS THE ANSWER

    • Hmm…Martial law, Gabu? I know quite a number of people who would agree with you. My question though is: Considering all the infiltrations and insincerities increasingly surrounding government daily, who would this law target? And who would enforce it?

  11. THE PEOPLE:

    THE GREATEST FORCE THAT CAN CAUSE OR BRING ABOUT CHANGE IS “THE PEOPLE.” FROM ARAB SPRING TO HOMOSEXUAL NONSENSE UNFOLDING IN THE UNITED STATES. THERE’S POWER IN NUMBER, LIKE THE BRAZILIANS ARE USING THE OPPORTUNITY OF THE WORLD CUP TOURNAMENT ATTENTION TO INSTIGATE CHANGE. NIGERIA’S “OCCUPY NIGERIA” HAD IMPACT, THE SAME WAS “OCCUPY WALL STREET” IN THE U.S.

    THERE IS POWER IN NUMBER, “THE PEOPLE”.

    THERE WAS POWER BEHIND THE ANTI-APARTHEID MOVEMENT OF SOUTH AFRICA WHICH BROUGHT ABOUT CHANGE, EVEN THE “SOLDIER ANTS ADOPTS THIS STRATEGY OF NUMBERS TO BE EFFECTIVE.

    WHY THEN ARE MOST OF US INDIFFERENT ABOUT OUR DIRE PREDICAMENTS? FELA SAID “SUFFERING AND SMILING,” IS THIS WHAT “WE” ARE DOING? WHY ARE “WE” NOT BORDERED ABOUT OUR STATE OF EMERGENCIES?

    FROM INSECURITY TO CORRUPTION, UNDERDEVELOPMENT TO DEGRADATION OF BOTH EDUCATIONAL STANDARD AND INFRASTRUCTURES, ENVIRONMENTAL SANITARY CATASTROPHE TO INFLATION, TERRORISM TO FOOD SCARCITY WHILE FOREIGNERS GROW FOOD PRODUCTS ON OUR LAND FOR EXPORT.

    HOW CAN “THE PEOPLE” STAND WHILE VICES ERODES THE ESSENTIALS
    OF OUR EXISTENCE

  12. This is too sad! I watched d video and I know how sad that experience was for me, not to mention the people that were there.. may their soul rest in peace!

  13. Oh dear! May her soul and those of many others whose lives have ended from this madness,rest in perfect peace. God help and save us ooo

Share your thoughts...

